Skip to content

Daft Punk’s Thomas Bangalter announces solo album “Mythologies”

Along with the announcement, Bangalter shows his face for the first time for a launch, albeit in an illustrative way

Thomas Bangalter album "Mythologies"

The legendary producer and musician Daft Punk’s Thomas Bangalter has just announced the release of his first solo album “Mythologies” where he will present an orchestral piece he previously wrote for a ballet project of the same name and of which you can get more information in this note we wrote at the time.

With the announcement that has turned the music industry upside down, Bangalter revealed his face for the first time as part of a release, albeit in an illustrative way. “Mythologies” will be released next April 07 via Erato/Warner Classics.

According to the press release, Thomas’ new work is not an electronic music project; on the contrary, the 90-minute composition is based on the artist’s love of Baroque music that culminates as a “substantial lyrical work” and “reinvents his approach to composition.”

Thomas Bangalter

“Mythologies”: a project prior to the breakup of Daft Punk

This major event comes two years after the breakup of Daft Punk. And although the album announcement seems to be something that is just cooking, Bangalter had already been working on the project since 2019, when choreographer Angelin Preljocaj commissioned him to write for a full orchestra.

It was the music behind the ballet “Mythologies” in collaboration with the Opéra National de Bordeaux, which ran from July 1 to 10, 2022 at the Grand Théâtre of Bordeaux under the direction of Romain Dumas.

The piece was intended for ten dancers from the ballet company of the Opéra National of Bordeaux and another ten from Preljocaj’s company and the resident house orchestra. Now, with the entire musical process behind them, they will be part of Thomas Bangalter’s debut album.

"Mythologies" album by Thomas Bangalter
“Mythologies” album cover

Album tracklist

Alongside the development of this LP, the elusive artist also worked for other soundtracks such as on the 2017 Latvian film Riga (Take 1), the 2018 psychological horror film Climax, 2022’s En Corps, as well as producer of compositions by artists such as Arcade Fire or Matthieu Chedid, performing under the moniker -M-.

Here is the list of singles from Thomas Bangalter’s album “Mythologies”:

  • I. Premiers Mouvements
  • II. Le Catch
  • III. Thalestris
  • IV. Les Gémeaux I
  • V. Les Amazones
  • VI. L’Arrivée d’Alexandre
  • VII. Treize Nuits
  • VIII. Danae
  • IX. Zeus
  • X. L’Accouchement
  • XI. Les Gorgones
  • XII. Renaissances
  • XIII. Le Minotaure
  • XIV. Eden
  • XV. Arès
  • XVI. Aphrodite
  • XVII. Les Naïades
  • XVIII. Pas de Deux
  • XIX. Circonvolutions
  • XX. Les Gémeaux II
  • XXI. Icare
  • XXII. Danse Funèbre
  • XXIII. La Guerre
«Mythologies» ballet
Nicolas Bernachea
Nicolas Bernachea

Connected to electronic music since I was 13 years old. For promotions and/or collaborations contact me at: